So What’s the Deal with Xmax?

Posted In: Subwoofers 101

• Participant
    stryke on #230

The first part of this is really Xmax History 101, so feel free to skip the first 4 paragraphs if you want. 🙂 Back in the mid 90’s when I first got into the DIY audio thing, Xmax wasn’t nearly what it is today. I was on this somewhat well known email list with something like 1800 other people called the “bass list.” At that time the champion of all Xmax was the NHT1259. It was the greatest driver ever and I believe it had 11mm Xmax. Shortly after that the ACI DV12 came out with 12mm Xmax and became the new champion. Then Dan Wiggins decided to go for even more and the Shiva came out with I believe 15mm Xmax at that time. But something changed. People stopped using just the physical overhang to rate Xmax. DUMAX came out with the .707x the rest BL value to rate Xmax. This is when I started playing around with drivers as well as Nick at Lambda Acoustics.

We found that you could take a driver with the same physical overhang, say 14mm overhang, but vary the top plate thickness and get different results. For example a 10mm gap with a 38mm coil has 14mm overhang but acts totally differently from an 18mm gap plate with a 46mm coil. Both have 14mm overhang, but the BL curves are totally different and you have much more usable excursion on the driver with the thicker top plate. Likewise, taking a driver with the same 38mm coil and using the two different 18mm and 10mm mm gaps gives nearly the same results. Going by traditional standards of just coil length minus gap and divide by two, you’d think that one would have 14mm and the other 10mm, but in reality they are very similar with the edge actually going to the shorter overhang driver in terms of usable excursion. This is about the time people started throwing out the generally accepted ideas on Xmax and started investing more time and money in FEA analysis and real world testing.